School of Medicine in English

Dean's Office of the School of Medicine in English

Pokaż centrum Krakowa na większej mapie


31-008 Kraków
ul. św. Anny 12

+48 (12) 422 80 42
+48 (12) 421 28 69

The School of Medicine in English is a structural unit of the Faculty of Medicine. Its first students were admit­ted in October 1994. During the 2011/2012 academic year, nearly 600 students from five continents and twenty countries were enrolled in the School, with the majority com­ing from Norway, the USA, and Canada.
The School offers three programs: two of medicine and one of dentistry, taught exclu­sively in English. This first is a 4-year program for graduates of pre-medical college/university programs in the USA/Canada, the second is a 6-year program for gradu­ates of secondary schools and the third a 5-year program for high school graduates.

Graduates of these programs are conferred a Doctor of Medicine (MD) and a Doctor of Dentistry (DDS) degree by the Jagiellonian University Faculty of Medicine. Academic staff include the most experienced scholars and lecturers at Jagiellonian University, as well as foreign academics from the USA, England, Germany, and other countries.
These English-language programs remain in compliance with Polish and EU standards of teaching, the US Department of Education (Stafford Loan Program), and Medical Board of California.
Under agreements with different universities, final year stu­dents of the School of Medicine in English have the oppor­tunity to complete elective rotations at, among others, the University of California San Diego, University of California Irvine, University of California Los Angeles, Loma Linda University Medical Center, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, and Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.
Graduates of both programs are eligible to apply for resi­dency and postgraduate training programs at university teaching hospitals in various countries, including the USA (Illinois, Alabama, Arizona, Michigan, Utah, Vermont, New York, Georgia, New Jersey, Florida, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, West Virginia, Ohio, Louisiana, South Carolina and Washington DC), Canada (Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, Alberta), Australia, England, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and Poland.